Monday Designer Interview edition- Bryan Siew

Every Mondays is Designer corners:

With 2014 in already, Lots of changes are going on the blog and in this changes i  included a designer interview and this week Malaysian designer Bryan Siew of  BlueBryan . I know Bryan through about.me. Here is an interview conducted through email:

*Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?

My name is Bryan Siew, and I’m from Malaysia. I completed a Diploma in Fashion Design from a local fashion school. Before that I also got myself a First Class Degree in Computer Science from Coventry University, and I have been working as a software engineer for several years before I enrolled myself into a fashion school.

My major interest would be fashion sketching. That is the moment where I can explore, experiment and express. Other than that I enjoy reading novel, and I cannot live without music.

*What does fashion mean to you?

For clothing, fashion is a combination of art and functionality. I can express my creativity through the designs, but I also have to look into the practicality of the garment or accessory. That is what makes fashion a challenging and exciting field.

*How would you define your city’s fashion?

Hip & urban. But sometimes it can be quite conservative and repetitive.

*When did you realize you wanted to become a fashion designer?

I wanted to become a fashion designer since middle high school; that is the time when I realized I can actually make my favorite pastime (sketching and designing garments) into a profession. I always believe that being able to do what you love is the greatest pleasure of all.

*What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

My favourite part of being a fashion designer is the freedom to be bold and crazy. Additionally I get to interact with many other interesting and creative people.

*what do u enjoy most about designing clothes?

I really enjoy the initial sketching and designing part, where I could play my imagination in many different possibilities. I would also get a huge sense of accomplishment when I transform my design into an actual garment.

 *What kind of feedback did you get on your first collection?

I’ve got some pretty positive feedbacks; the most common feedback that I got is that the collection looks timeless, effortless and comfortable.

 *Do you have a specific research process when you start a new collection?

Normally I develop a mood board prior to designing a new collection. The mood board would consist of color palettes, fabric swatches, and photos of the muse or inspiration. The board helps me to stay focus on the concept throughout the process.

 *Who inspires you the most in fashion? Anyone who stands out?

Giorgio Armani. Other than this I also adore Isabel Marant and Ermanno Scervino.

 *Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

I would want to be able to consistently develop at least 2 seasonal collections every year, and market them in the International fashion parades. If possible I would also like to setup my very own studio/showroom.

*Among your collections what is your most and least favorite ones? Your most sought out by buyers?

The most popular pieces are the 1st look, color-block shift dress, and the 2nd look, navy peplum top with overlapping skirt. While the least favourite one would be the 4th look, the floral peplum top with matching pants. Some people are having issues with the usage of floral motif in this design. 

*Where can the readers find your collections for buying?

So far I have just released one collection, which is pretty much an experimental collection. A new collection is under development at the moment, but whoever that is interested in my previous work may contact me thru email or personal website.

Email: bryanswk@gmail.com

Website: www.blueryan.net

*Any closing conclusions/advice to give our readers or future designers

If you’re determined on a goal, do not be afraid to reach for it, regardless of your age or background. Life is too short, so take control of it and live to the fullest.

pg03 pg04

This entry was posted in Designers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment