Monday Designer Interview- Kimya by Olivia O

Meet French designer Olivia O. creative director and founder of Kimya. Here is how our interview went on.

Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your
educational background? What are your general professional and
non-professional interests?

I’m french designer and director of Kimya by Olivia.O, I was born in France and grown up here and my roots

from Cameroon. I’m 28 years old. I studied fashion management at school ESIV Paris

to get a Master. I worked for the most known High luxury brands to learn the job.

 

I like fashion, music and travelling.

 

*What does fashion mean to you?

Fashion means everything for me…

You can do everything you want in fashion, express yourself through clothes, tell a story,

to play with clothes which give you the opportunity to get different expressions, attitudes.

What else? To dream and to make dream people too. To me an outfit is like a second skin which needs to express something and to take life.
*How would you define your city’s fashion?

Paris is definitely the place to be for fashion, It’s one of the most beautiful city in the world reknown for its fashion, the big designers of fashion’s world come from here like Louis Vuitton, Yves Saint Laurent, Chanel, Hermès, Dior and Louboutin. People come from all over the world to see Paris fashion week so, to learn the technic at school, to get creativity …there is a real know how, the made in France is an added value, a plus
*When did you realize you wanted to become a fashion designer?

From my young age I always wanted to work in this field. But my mum didn’t agree with it at all. So I decided to get my diplomas and get back to my passion.
*What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

To design and  create. You can see a person and start to imagine…

And the fashion show is the magic part people can dream.

*what do you enjoy most about designing clothes?

To draw, create the collections with materials,

*What kind of feedback did you get on your first collection?

It’s original, It changes it’s amazing, good job
*Among your collections what is your most and least favorite ones? Your
most sought out by buyers?

I like all of them but my favorites ones are the white and red dress, its chic simple

And one which all women can wear it. And my first creation and one last Malia dress. The same for buyers.
*Do you have a specific research process when you start a new collection?

I don’t know because it’s my first collection. ; )

But the only thing I can say it won’t be the last
*Who inspires you the most in fashion? Anyone who stands out?

The most is the materials, to do thing that people they can’t think about.

To mix materials, styles that’s what I like. The person who stands out is Solange Knowles I like how she dresses up and the way of mixing styles and materials. A full and real artist.
*Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?

 

Kimya by Olivia.O will be an international known brand of French creator.
*Any closing conclusions/advice to give our readers or future designers

Make your dreams come true no matter what

For more information:

IMG_20140423_161911[1]

This entry was posted in Designers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

