Monday Designer Corner: Lil Zia

Good to be back on this Monday. Am uploading this now because i have a busy schedule during the day and unfortunately wouldn’t be able to do so. Anyway this week’s designer is Pauline creator and designer of the etsy store Lil zia. Who is Lil’ Zia you may ask?

Well here is a little something about this store?

Lil’ Zia is dedicated to women over the World that want fun, style, originality and comfort in their wardrobe. Lil’ Zia is for happy women that want to express their real self! It is a personality!

Lil’ Zia is about expressing happiness through colorful, ethnic and unique clothes and accessories. What Lil’ Zia offers you is the possibility to select a design, a specific wax model and let us know about additional wishes! Want a flower on your dress, a bird, a belt, a bow tie for your hair to match the dress? Everything is POSSIBLE…almost!

Here is our sitdown with Pauline:

Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?

I’m from France but I’ve been living in Portugal for 4 years, since I graduated in International Business/ Marketing. I lived and travelled in different countries which has had a big influence on my personality and tastes. I love dancing in the club, probably the best feeling in the world. I would go for hip hop, dance hall and african beats, but anything to move is fine by me. 
 
 

*What does fashion mean to you?
Fashion for me is having a style, not necessarily following a trend, but being yourself, a different self than the rest of the world.
*How would you define your city’s fashion?
London is for me the best place for “fashion”, for style. It seems like there, everybody is free to express his tastes/feelings.
*When did you realize you wanted to become a fashion designer? 1 year and half ago, when I decided that I wanted to offer other people like me a chance to express themselves through unique and customized clothes.
*What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?
Creating, using my hands and my brain, having a passion and goals.
 
*what do u enjoy most about designing clothes?
The feedback, the surprise on my friends faces when I have something new to show. Particularly because initially my friends weren’t the type to wear either Ankara fabrics nor the shape of the clothes I offer but that they finally understood that Ankara can be worn by anybody, no matter where you’re from and that you should never be too shy to wear the colors you like and fit you.
*What kind of feedback did you get on your first collection? I’ve had good feedback. Some pieces were definitely more famous than some others such as the leather clutch.
*Among your collections what is your most and least favorite ones? Your most sought out by buyers?
For the feeling I have when I wear them I would say my favorites are the butterfly dress and the princess one (with a train): 
Model Kley looks gorgeous in Lil' Zia's "Princess" dress.  This design provides a confidence boost for the ones who wear it as well as a general good feeling.  It can easily be worn with a long sleeves t-shirt during low temperature days  However, during sunny warm days, it is meant to be open-back!

Model Kley looks gorgeous in Lil’ Zia’s “Princess” dress.
This design provides a confidence boost for the ones who wear it as well as a general good feeling.
It can easily be worn with a long sleeves t-shirt during low temperature days
However, during sunny warm days, it is meant to be open-back!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Do you have a specific research process when you start a new collection? As I try to offer comfortable and practical clothes, I would first pick the fabrics that inspire me and analyze the daily issues we can have with clothes and accessories available on the market. Then the creativity begins!
*Who inspires you the most in fashion? Anyone who stands out?
Nobody in particular. Just any happy, fun and respectful woman!
*Where do you see yourself in 5 years time? Currently the goal is simply to be happy doing what I love. I trust my audience to bring me where they think I should be. Having satisfied customers trusting my work is what I am aiming, for now and for as long as possible.
*Any closing conclusions/advice to give our readers or future designers

Be yourself, trust your dreams and try! However this is only possible if you surround yourself with the right people, and I’m not talking about networks but friends and family that will motivate you and be honest because they will be the ones you will need when you have doubts.!

Lil' Zia's first photoshoot

Lil’ Zia’s first photo shoot

Lil' Zia's first photoshoot

Lil’ Zia’s first photo shoot

The clutch

The clutch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For more info visit her fb page:  https://www.facebook.com/LilZia

Etsy Store: Link Lil’ Zia above

Want to know more about the store and its founder Pauline and will be in Paris in Mid May well you are in luck cause Lil’ Zia will be represented at the  Labo Ethnik event in Paris on the 22nd-25th of May. The Fashion show on the 23rd. 

*P.S dont forget to mention me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Designers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

