Monday Designer Corner- Melange Mode

Monday is back with an all new designer corner. Today we interview Yvonne Pearson of Melange Mode boutique.Melange Mode focuses on incorporating beautiful bold African Fabrics with modern European fashion. Combining a mixture of these two worlds creates the perfect union between trend and classic couture. All pieces are selected by an African-European designer with the inspiration of unifying two cultures through fashion. Below is our interview with her:

 

*Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?
I am an Afropean woman, From the Ivory Coast and Belgium raised in France. I actually went to school for Foreign Languages and International Affairs. I am a married mother of three sweet girls.
*What does fashion mean to you?
To me, fashion is an outlet to express who you are for the world to see.
*How would you define your city’s fashion?
People in Atlanta are very much so fashion forward. They are very liberal when it comes to being different and fashion forward. That is something I really enjoy about being in Atlanta.
*When did you realize you wanted to become a fashion designer?
When I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted. My mother would always bring back such fabulous bold prints from her trips to the Ivory Coast. And yet I wanted the vibrant patterns to be controlled in a more structure form of fashion. So it inspired me to combine the two into a more chic, sophisticated,  and yet simple trend as you see in European couture.
*What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?
I really enjoy creating pieces that that unique and to my taste. I get really excited that other people are liking them as much as I am. I don’t really follow a trend. I like to create pieces that are a reflection of what I would wear.
*what do u enjoy most about designing clothes?
I enjoy the freedom of expression side of being a creator, a designer. To see then end result of something I envisioned is self-fulfilling.
*What kind of feedback did you get on your first collection?
People were receptive from the begining, which was a nice surprise, knowing that not everyone may did such bold prints. I like to tone everything else down. If you are wearing a bold peice, such as one of my maxi skirt, let it stand out on it’s own. 
*Among your collections what is your most and least favorite ones? Your most sought out by buyers?
My maxi skirts are so much fun and sought out pieces. I think it’s because they bring a level of fashion and comfort at the same time. You can stand out and look fabulous no matter what your body type maybe in a maxi skirt. I don’t have a least favorite piece lol…they are all a reflection of who I am.
*Do you have a specific research process when you start a new collection?
My print direct everything else. It determines what everything is going to be.
*Who inspires you the most in fashion? Anyone who stands out?
I am inspired of the feeling that it brings. I love all types of fashion to be honest, knowing that is represent a moment, a feeling, an expression, a decoration/embrace of the body.
*Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?
I perhaps see myself collaborating with other artists, and perhaps a couture line. 
*Any closing conclusions/advice to give our readers or future designers.
Follow your heart. Do what you love!
For more information on where to purchase this goodies: https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/MelangeMode?ref=pr_shop_more
il_170x135.552678187_fuym il_170x135.573135890_s0p9 il_170x135.573146664_es27
This entry was posted in Designers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.