Monday Designer Interview- Bobbi Kumari

Monday is back with an all new designer interview. Meet Bobbi Kumari a British Based designer and owner of Living in Light online store. Check out my interview with her:

*Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?

I am originally from India and a born and bred East Londoner!! I studied Fashion Design straight after leaving school and went on to complete a BA in Fashion Management.  I am also trained as a Secondary School Teacher in the same field.

*What does fashion mean to you?

Fashion is a beautiful outward expression of who we are on the inside. It is a wonderful art form that is accessible to everyone!!

*How would you define your city’s fashion?

London is totally cool! Our fashion style is a dynamic amalgamation of cultures, experiences, styles and preferences that scream diversity, flair and freedom.

*When did you realize you wanted to become a fashion designer?

At the age of about ten. My mum was a seamstress and would let me help her with her work. By twelve I was designing and producing my own outfits and by thirteen I was selling custom made clothes at school to earn an income.

*What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

Seeing what I envisioned in my heart becoming an actual piece of work that takes on a life of it’s own, and is worn by others.  Also, that I have an outlet for the creativity brewing inside of me.

*what do u enjoy most about designing clothes?

That something I have created is not only loved by me but also appreciated by others.

*What kind of feedback did you get on your first collection?

Really positive. Lots of support and appreciation for the funky styles and original cuts that have since become signature pieces.

*Among your collections what is your most and least favorite ones? Your most sought out by buyers?

The Bianca Harems will always be a Living in Light signature style and I find whatever I develop within this concept is always well received and highly popular.  My newest collection for this year which I am currently working on is my most favourite and I wouldn’t say I have a least favourite collection however the older collections were still in their infancy and stages of development so may not be as sophisticated as more recent collections.

*Do you have a specific research process when you start a new collection?

I tend to start new collections with a few key design ideas that I would really see come alive and then build on a theme centred around those pieces. I collect several references to inspire me before designing additional pieces to fit within that theme for each collection.

*Who inspires you the most in fashion? Anyone who stands out?

I love designers that embrace other cultures in their creations. I think Valentino is a creative genius. His understanding of style and incredible attention to detail is breathtaking.

*Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

With a substantial brand that truly brings light, love and liberty into people’s lives through exciting and relevant creative mediums including literature, film and of course fashion.

*Any closing conclusions/advice to give our readers or future designers.

For aspiring designers and creatives: Take what’s in your heart and just run with it.  Start with whatever you have in your hands even if it’s very small.  Don’t get intimidated or hindered by what you don’t have. Just take the passion, skill, financials, resources that you do have access to and JUST START! Finally, create first and foremost for yourself, don’t sell out on your individuality just to fit in…and be sure to totally enjoy the journey! x

Check out her etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/LivinginLight?ref=l2-shopheader-name

Her website: http://www.livinginlight.co.uk./

 

il_570xN.296113615 DSC_0121 A-1

This entry was posted in Designers, Europe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.