Monday: Designer corner- Lola Hernandez

Lola Hernandez is a spanish designer i got in contact through about.me. Her designs are what made me contact her. Check her interview below:

*Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?

My name is Lola Hernández Salcedo and I’m 26 years old.

I was born in Seville, Spain where I currently live.

Since I was a little girl I love drawig and design. (I remember I used to dress my Barbies with handmade paper  clothes). But then I grew up and my family thought that fashion design was not a good career for me, because that world was really hard. They convinced me to study a more ‘realistic’ subject, so I graduated in Human Nutrition and Dietetics at Pablo de Olavide University, here in Seville in 2010 and started to work.  However, I was feeling blue because  my burning ambition was not fullfilled, so last year, I changed my mind and started Fashion Design at Sevilla de Moda and registered my own fashion Brand, Voilier. Although I have not left my job as a nutritionist, now  I’m devoted to design and I’m really enjoying it!

*What does fashion mean to you?

Fashion now is just a part of my life, in the future, I hope it will be the whole. I don`t mind to work really long hours if  it means being drawing, looking for new inspiration, reading fashion news, seing  fashion shows… I wish I will live from fashion some day.

*How would you define your city’s fashion?

I could say that so that Seville is closely connected to bullfighting and riding world, traditional, classical and preppy style is very common. Unfortunately, Seville is not like Madrid or Barcelona, they are much more ‘trend-followers’. But we are on the way!

*When did you realize you wanted to become a fashion designer?

Answered in question 1, I think.

*What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

The moment you find a new inspiration and ideas start coming up to you so you can´t stop scketching and of course, the fashion show.

*what do u enjoy most about designing clothes?

I think like most designers, the chance to express your creativity and see how far you can get.

*What kind of feedback did you get on your first collection?

Although I´m 26, I am still a Young fashion designer so I have not produced a real collection yet, only for a design competition ( Best Andalusian Designer 2013) which I won! You can see it on my blog http://voilierblog.wordpress.com/lolahernandez/ande-2013/. It was inspired on the japanese kimono and all was painted  myself and hand sewn. Moreover, I used real cotton flowers inside clothes. The prize was going to Madrid now in February to the national competition with the same collection. I am looking forward!!

*Among your collections what is your most and least favorite ones? Your most sought out by buyers?

As I said, I don´t have any collection, but I sell handmade bags (you also can see them on my blog). And I have sold all of them here in Seville. When I finished my first collection this year, I am going to launch the online store.

*Do you have a specific research process when you start a new collection?

I use social networks like Pinterest to look for images that could inspire me, but for instance, the inspiration of my currently collection suddenly came from a tv serie! You never know, don’t you?

*Who inspires you the most in fashion? Anyone who stands out?

I love elegance, my best icon of woman ever is Audrey Hepburn and her perfection and classical style. However, I love transgression and innovation too, so I search for the mix of new materials, patterns and structures and classic elegance.

*Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

Running my own fashion bussines or working for another brand, or both! jajaj

*Any closing conclusions/advice to give our readers or future designers

Fashion world is hard, but world is made for brave people. If you love it, do it. Trust yourself and do your best every day so you can say at the end of your life ‘ I did it my way’.

This entry was posted in Designers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

