Monday Designer Corner- Mrs Regina Hall

Mrs. Regina Hall is a designer and vendor on Etsy. I have been stalking her store for quite sometimes now and finally had the courage to contact her for an interview for this week designer corner.

*Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?

My name is Regina Yvette Hall and I am from an Afro Caribbean Background/culture. I am a citizen of Barbados, West Indies and currently reside in Texas, but lived in New York for 22 years. I have my Masters of Liberal Arts in Fine Arts. I love everything colorful and design. I am an artist & writer by nature, but an entrepreneur and freelance by profession. I enjoy all the aspects of Fine Arts; music, theatre and dance included. Some of my non-professional interests are helping others, volunteering in my community, enjoying my friends and family and loving God.

*How would you define your city’s fashion?

Well, in DFW Texas there is a mixture of fashion. They are many people from many places, so you get a mixture and cultural fashion with personal preference. Now as for New York City, the fashion is classic, edgy and daring all wrapped up in one. People in New York are not afraid to express themselves. It is a cultural melting pot. This is where I developed my style. It is one of the fashion capitals of the world.

*When did you realize you wanted to become a fashion designer?

I realized that I wanted to design in some aspect sometime back in middle school. In high-school I was always flamboyantly and controversially dressed. Let’s just say that I was not afraid to experiment with color or patterns. I majored in Fashion Marketing for about a year at the local college, then planned on transferring to New York’s acclaimed FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology), but then after moving and some other life events, decided on a more traditional degree in Social Sciences, but I never gave up on design and creativity.

*What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

My favorite part of design is making beautiful patterns and colors come to life by creating accessories that encourage expression.

*what do u enjoy most about designing clothes?

I enjoy designing clothes that are unique, attention getting, and that compliment a person’s body. Although my current line is absent of clothing that is something to definitely look out for by summer 2014.

*What kind of feedback did you get on your first collection?

I received very positive feedback from my first collection of jewelry. I was surprised, humbled and grateful.

*Among your collections what is your most and least favorite ones? Your most sought out by buyers?

I personally do not have any least favorites, but I do prefer the more vibrant colors and fabrics. Those seem to be the most sought after on Etsy.com and outside of Etsy.com as well. I do have darker or less bold fabrics, but it seems like those do not sell as much as the bright ones do.

*Do you have a specific research process when you start a new collection?

Yes, I do. I like to study what people are wearing and what is hot. Then I take it from there. I remember in 2009 I designed a series of dresses for myself after getting some inspiration from pictures I saw of the African Movie Awards. I had those designs made and wore them all that year. I have never received so many compliments in my life on a clothing choice, so keeping up works.

*Who inspires you the most in fashion? Anyone who stands out?

I have always admired the graceful designs of Oscar De La Renta and the edginess of Versace. I also love the bold & classy designs of Nigerian fashion designer Folake Folarin-Coker, who created the line Tiffany Amber and enjoy the vibrant use of colors and patterns by London based Jamaican designer Dionne Gooding. All these people inspired me.

*Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

I see myself as a thriving business, bursting with creativity and trying to provide to my clients of multi-cultural backgrounds, their ethnic &/ or unique fashion clothing and accessory must haves and great customer service.

*Any closing conclusions/advice to give our readers or future designers

Do not give up! Sometimes in life you may have a deterrence or two, but if it is in you to create then do it. It brings so much life and energy to your soul and smiles to your face when you can make yourself happy with your own gift, when also making someone else happy at the same time.

Check her store

This entry was posted in Designers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

